Port-vu-d-avion-Argenton_Landunvez_avril2021
AUPA

Study of the currents and tides in Argenton harbor

Courses
Innovation
Hydrography - Oceanography
At the municipality’s request, a hydrography-oceanography student from ENSTA Bretagne is conducting a study on the movement of ocean currents in the picturesque harbor of Argenton. This natural environment is located in the village of Landunvez in North Finistère. The study seeks to outline the most appropriate models for reversing the siltation observed within this sensitive setting. Tide gauges are currently being installed…

Steady siltation since the 1940s

Around 200 yachtspeople use this quintessential little Breton harbor on the northern tip of Finistère. It is well protected by Yoc’h island opposite and the Vivier peninsula which closes the cove to the west.

During World War II, the occupying forces particularly added reinforcements to the access road to the Vivier peninsula to leverage this position. It was ideal for watching over the entrance to the Chenal du Four (waterway to the far west of Finistère, in the Iroise sea, before the entrance to Brest harbor).

The main impact of these coastal developments has been to completely stop one of the two tidal flows coming into the port by major coefficients. Later on, the construction of a small dike only exacerbated a steady phenomenon of siltation which has now been observed for 70 years. More recently, incidents of biological pollution (green algae) have also added to the problem.

Eric Hassan, President of the Argenton harbor users association (AUPA) (and alumnus of ENSTA Paris, class of ‘89):

Argenton marina in Landunvez nestles amidst unspoilt natural scenery, steeped in a rich tin trading past. Today, it is a haven of peace for many local yachtspeople. Our small boats are well protected there from the northwesterly and southwesterly winds, by two peninsulas (Saint Laurent and Vivier) and the very wild Yoc’h island. Passing sailors are welcome at the "visitor" moorings. Once there, you’ll perhaps discover that there is no need to sail across the oceans to find a paradise – which we are trying hard to protect..."

Understanding and modeling the phenomenon to outline solutions

The harbor’s siltation is a worry for the municipal team, headed up by Christophe Colin, and the AUPA, chaired by Eric Hassan.

In order to analyze the phenomenon of siltation more closely and model a solution, an application project was put forward at ENSTA Bretagne.

  • The student in charge of the project, Jean-Baptiste Roustan, is currently installing a series of tide gauges on the harbor floor (three are planned). The three devices will record the variations in water height as the tides come and go.
  • These datasets will be used to validate the model concerning the tidal current movements in the harbor implemented for this study.
  • Using this model, it should be possible to find out whether a development to improve the tidal current movements could be considered as a natural solution for cleaning the area of water.
depose-de-maregraphes-port-de-l-Argenton-avril2021-ENSTA_Bretagne
ENSTA Bretagne

You are a "hydrography-oceanography" student, at the end of your course at ENSTA Bretagne. What skills did you need to successfully complete this study and what did you enjoy about this project?

Jean-Baptiste (hydrographer-oceanographer, ENSTA Bretagne 2021 class, X-2017):
 

This project required sound knowledge of the modeling tools and their descriptive capacity to ensure successful completion. In order to check that the model is consistent with physical reality, on-site data collection is needed to validate the simulations. The scientific and technical merits of this project stem from this twofold challenge. On a final note, one of the main reasons for my interest in this study was the opportunity to work in a coastal area, in close liaison with local stakeholders.

What would a "natural solution for cleaning the area of water", which acts on the tidal current movements, entail?

Amandine Nicolle (Professor, Hydrography-Oceanography Course Director):

Modeling the movement of tidal currents with the topography of the area will give us insight into the hydrodynamic reasons behind the harbor’s siltation. Once this knowledge has been acquired, this model can be used to see how a change in terrain level (digging in one area or adding an obstacle for example) can affect this movement. Using the digital model, it is possible to measure the impact of each solution considered, to find the most natural way of addressing this siltation problem, with as little impact as possible on the neighboring environment.

contact

Amandine Nicolle
Research Professor
Coordinator of the Hydrography and Oceanography Major and Master’s programs

Port-vu-d-avion-Argenton_Landunvez_avril2021
AUPA

Etude des courants et marées dans le port d'Argenton

Formations
Innovation
Hydrographie - Océanographie
A la demande de la municipalité, un élève hydrographe-océanographe de l’ENSTA Bretagne mène une étude sur la circulation des courants océaniques dans le joli port d’Argenton. Cet abri naturel est situé sur la commune de Landunvez en Finistère Nord. L'étude vise à suggérer des modèles d'inversion de l'envasement observé, qui soient les plus adaptés à cet environnement sensible. La pose des marégraphes a débuté...

Un envasement progressif depuis les années 40

Ce petit port breton typique de la pointe Nord du Finistère, accueille environ 200 plaisanciers. Il est très protégé par l’île d’Yock qui lui fait face et la presqu’île du Vivier qui ferme l’anse par l’ouest. 

Lors de la deuxième guerre mondiale, les forces d’occupation ont particulièrement renforcé la voie d’accès à la presqu’île du Vivier pour exploiter cette position, idéale pour surveiller l’entrée du chenal du Four (voie maritime à l’extrême ouest du Finistère, en mer d’Iroise, qui précède l’entrée de la rade de Brest).

Ces aménagements côtiers ont eu pour principale conséquence d’arrêter définitivement un des deux flux de marée entrant dans le port par grands coefficients. Plus tard, la construction d’une petite digue est venue augmenter un phénomène progressif d’envasement constaté maintenant depuis 70 ans, auquel sont venus s'ajouter plus récemment des épisodes de pollution biologique (algues vertes).

Eric Hassan, Président de l'association des usagers du port d'Argenton (diplômé d'ENSTA Paris, promo 89) :

Le port de plaisance d'Argenton à Landunvez est un magnifique abri naturel, historiquement lié au commerce de l'Etain. Aujourd'hui c'est un havre de paix pour les nombreux plaisanciers locaux. Nos canots y sont bien protégés des tempêtes de Suroît et de Noroît, par deux presqu'îles (Saint Laurent et du Vivier) et la très sauvage Ile d'Yoch. Les navigateurs de passage y sont les bienvenus sur les corps-morts "visiteur". Et là, vous découvrirez peut-être qu'il n'est nul besoin de traverser les océans pour découvrir un paradis, que nous veillons à préserver..."

Comprendre et modéliser le phénomène pour esquisser des solutions

L’envasement du port préoccupe l’équipe municipale, conduite par M. Christophe Colin, et l’association des usagers du port d’Argenton (AUPA), présidée par Eric Hassan.

Afin d’analyser plus précisément le phénomène d’envasement et de proposer un modèle de solution, un projet d’application a été proposé à l’ENSTA Bretagne.

  • L’étudiant en charge du projet, Jean-Baptiste Roustan, procède en ce moment à la pose de plusieurs marégraphes sur le fond du port (trois sont prévus). Les trois appareils vont enregistrer les variations de hauteur d’eau au fil des marées.
  • Ces données vont permettre de valider le modèle de circulation des courants de marée dans le port mis en place pour cette étude.
  • Ce modèle devrait permettre de savoir si un aménagement pour améliorer la circulation des courants de marée pourrait être envisagé comme solution naturelle pour le nettoyage du bassin.
depose-de-maregraphes-port-de-l-Argenton-avril2021-ENSTA_Bretagne
ENSTA Bretagne

Vous êtes élève en « hydrographie-océanographie » et achevez votre formation à l’ENSTA Bretagne. Quelles sont les compétences requises pour mener à bien cette étude et qu’est-ce qui vous a plus dans ce projet ?

Jean-Baptiste (hydrographe-océanographe, promotion ENSTA Bretagne 2021, X-2017) :

Mener à bien un tel projet requière une bonne connaissance des outils de modélisation et de leur capacité descriptive. Ainsi, afin de vérifier la cohérence du modèle à la réalité physique, ce projet requière le recueil de données in situ, pour valider les simulations. Ce double enjeu donne toute la richesse scientifique et technique à ce projet.  Enfin, travailler sur une zone littorale, en étroite collaboration avec des acteurs locaux contribue grandement à mon intérêt pour cette étude.

En quoi consisterait une solution de « nettoyage naturel du bassin » agissant sur la circulation des courants de marée ?

Amandine Nicolle (Enseignant-chercheur, responsable des enseignements en Hydrographie-Océanographie) :

Modéliser la circulation des courants de marée avec la topographie de la zone va nous permettre de comprendre les raisons hydrodynamiques de l'envasement du port. Une fois cette connaissance acquise, on peut utiliser ce modèle pour voir comment un changement de relief  (creuser à un endroit donné ou ajouter un obstacle...) peut agir sur cette circulation. Le modèle numérique permet de mesurer l'impact de chaque solution envisagée, pour trouver une solution la plus naturelle possible à ce problème d'envasement qui impactera le moins possible l'environnement voisin.

contact

Amandine Nicolle
Enseignant-chercheur
Responsable de la spécialité et du Master Hydrographie et Océanographie