Moore prize

The R.E. Moore Prize for Applications of Interval Analysis honors Ramon Moore, who originated much of the work on interval methods and over a long distinguished career tirelessly fostered their development.

The current list of awards is as follows:

2002: Warwick Tucker, for the rigorous proof of the existence of the strange attractor of the Lorenz equation. Formulated as one of the most important problems in nonlinear chaotic dynamics, it is known as Steven Smale's fourteenthproblem for the 21st century.

2004: Thomas C. Hales, for the proof of the Kepler conjecture about the densest arrangement of spheres in space. Posed by Kepler in 1611 and partially solved by Gauss in 1831, it became the eighteenth ofthe collection of Hilbert's problems for the 20th century.

2008: Kyoko Makino and Martin Berz, for the development of novel high performance rigorous self-verified integrators for flows of ODEs based on Taylor model and differential algebraic methods. Some current applications of the methods include proving stability of large particle accelerators, dynamics of flows in the solar system, and computer assisted proofs in hyperbolic dynamics.

2012: Luc Jaulin, for his work on localization and map building of underwater robots using interval constraint propagation. pdf.
Obtained at SCAN'2012.

2014: Kenta Kobayashi, receives the 5th R. E. Moore Prize for his work on Computer-Assisted Uniqueness Proof for Stokes' Wave of Extreme Form.

2016: Balazs Banhelyi, Tibor Csendes, Tibor Krisztin and Arnold Neumaier, receive the 6th R. E. Moore Prize for their work on Global Attractivity of the Zero Solution for Wright's Equation.

2018: J.-LL. Figueras, A. Haro, A. Luque, receive 6th R. E. Moore Prize for their work on a Rigorous Computer-Assisted Application of KAM Theory.